Tags

, ,

Today I watched the Anthony Hopkins film ‘Hannibal’ for the first time. I managed to work through my feelings of queasiness and was able to appreciate two things:

The first is that Anthony Hopkins is an awesome actor and is definitely brilliant at playing the freaky roles.

The second was the beautiful ‘Vide Cor Meum’, an operatic piece written especially for the film. It’s gorgeous, and I’ve been listening to it non stop since I bought it this afternoon. It is definitely a stark contrast to the ickiness that is freely on display throughout the film. (I did however enjoy the film – high tension, great twists and you can’t help but be charmed by Hannibal Lector at times, as scary as that may sound).

‘Vide Cor Meum’ is gentle and flowing, sorrowful and uplifting at the same time, and the emotion that the singers convey in their voices is awesome.

The only tiny complaint I have about this track is that you can hear a snippet of Hannibal speaking at the end – it’s only two words, and it’s so quiet I didn’t actually notice it until the third of fourth time I played it.  It’s right at the end though, so I’m finding it very easy to hit the repeat button again before he makes his appearance!

You can find an English translation of the lyrics here.

Check it out…I’m not a huge opera fan, but I am a fan of beautiful music, and this certainly fits that category.

Vide Cor Meum – Dante Alighieri & Patrick Cassidy

Edit: This post was reposted in April.

