Tags

, , ,

When I posted ‘One Each from The Chosen Ones’, I listed my favourite song by each artist. One of these artists is Van Morrison.

I’m not going to write a history/bio thing here, because I’m assuming that most people have at least heard of Van Morrison, and also because I don’t have all night to talk about the awesome-ness of the man. Google him, there’s loads of info out there.

There’s a little bit of a story here though (this part’s for you Dad!).

My dad is the biggest Van Fan out there and when I was growing up he would play Van endlessly, and sing along at increasingly high pitched levels. I absolutely hated Van when I was a kid, I’m not sure if it was his music, or the fact that I heard it all the time or because Dad loved it and I wanted to rebel…I don’t know.

‘It’s heartsoothing,’ he would say whenever I threatened to throw his CDs under the first available bus.

I can’t pinpoint exactly when I realised that Dad may know what he’s on about after all, but I can tell you that I love Van now, and wish he would get on that plane and come to Melbourne, because I know Dad would love to see him live. And so would I.

Real Real Gone – Van Morrison

