Tags

, , , , , ,

For my second post I thought I would talk about a few of my favourite instrumental tracks.  

Confession – Richard Pleasance 

This track was written for a show called ‘Seachange’ that was on in Australia in the late 90’s. It was about a city lawyer, Laura (Sigrid Thornton), who moves to the coast when her marriage breaks up. There were three seasons of ‘Seachange’, and this track was featured in the third last episode, entitled ‘Love in the Time of Coleridge’. Laura has had two relationships since her divorce, one with a laconic fisherman, Diver Dan (David Wenham), who left her for the Galapagos Islands and another with the local journalist, Max Connors (William McInnes). She and Max can never quite get it together. 

In this scene Max and Laura are in a dinghy that has broken down, and they are aimlessly drifting on the ocean. Max tells Laura about his favourite poem when he was a child – Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s ‘Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner’, and explains that it’s about a man that shoots an albatross while out at sea – ‘he realises too late that the albatross is his saviour’. He tells Laura that he’s been shooting albatrosses all his life, and that he hopes this time that the wound isn’t fatal.  

Sounds quite soppy when I write it all down like that! However, if you’ve watched the entire three seasons and then watch this scene, with the music playing and the waves lapping at the side of the boat while a solitary tear trickles down Laura’s face…you’ll understand! 

Rugla – Amiina 

Only just discovered this track the other day – Amiina are an Icelandic quartet and this track is from their 2007 album ‘Kurr’. I think this track is beautiful, and the melody has been stuck in my head ever since I first heard it.  

Pachelbel’s Canon – Cincinnati Pops Orchestra 

First let me say that I do not like this track because I heard it played at someone’s wedding or anything like that  – I hate it when people play it at their weddings. I think that due to overuse it’s become a bit of a cliché actually. 

Anyway, enough bitching… 

I love this piece of music for its melody, and the way it starts off really slowly and gradually builds, before fading away again. I prefer this strings version because I think it gives it a majestic feeling. Having said that though, there’s a pretty cool electric guitar version too, check it out. 

Pachelbel’s Canon, rock style   

